NRO Number Council


The Number Resource Organization (NRO) Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), signed in October 2003, called for the creation of a Number Council. The MoU reads, in part:

“The NRO Number Council shall be responsible for the provision of advice to the Executive Council concerning the ratification of proposed global IP number resource allocation policies.

“The NRO Number Council shall act as a point of consultation to external entities on proposed global IP number resource policies, addressing questions that may be raised concerning such policy proposals, maintaining a dialogue with the entity and the RIRs concerning these proposals as required.

“The NRO Number Council shall develop procedures in an accessible, open, transparent and documented manner for conducting business in support of their responsibilities and submit these procedures to the Executive Council for approval.”

In October 2004, the NRO and ICANN signed the Address Supporting Organization (ASO) MoU, which dictated that the NRO Number Council fulfill the role of ICANN’s ASO Address Council (ASO AC). The ASO AC, consisting of members appointed or elected to the NRO Number Council, will continue to function as a role of ICANN as required in ICANN’s Bylaws.

Address Supporting Organization (ASO)

ASO Formation and Function

The Address Supporting Organization (ASO) is one of three Supporting Organizations called for in the ICANN Bylaws to be “formed through community consensus.” The purpose of the ASO is to review and develop recommendations on IP address policy and to advise the ICANN Board on these matters.

In July 1999, the three currently existing Regional Internet Registries (APNIC, ARIN, and RIPE NCC) submitted a proposal to form the ASO on the basis of a Memorandum of Understanding. ICANN accepted this proposal on 26 August 1999.

The ASO was subsequently formed on 19 October 1999, when the MoU was signed by representatives of the RIRs and ICANN, during the ARIN IV Public Policy Meeting in Denver. LACNIC and AFRINIC also signed the ASO MoU upon their recognition as RIRs.

Each Regional Internet Registry (RIR) has three members on the Number Council.

Read the Election Guidelines for more information on how NRO NC members are nominated and elected or appointed.


The ASO AC conducts monthly teleconferences that are open to observers. These calls are generally held on the first Wednesday of each month. The meeting schedule and further details are available on the ASO website.

Current Members of the NRO NC from the ARIN Region

Kevin Blumberg

kevinb at thewire dot

Kevin has been the co-owner and CTO of The Wire Inc. in Toronto, Canada since 1999. He currently sits on the Board of the Toronto Internet Exchange as well as on the NANOG Program Committee. His past involvements included being on the Board and Executive of the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. from 2010 until 2016. He served on the ARIN Advisory Council from 2012 and served as Advisory Council Vice-Chair in 2015 and 2016. He was then appointed to a partial term on the NRO Number Council in August 2016 and his appointment was extended for one year in 2017. Kevin then received three subsequent three-year appointments for terms beginning in 2018, 2021, and 2024. Kevin’s current appointment ends 31 December 2026.

Nick Nugent

nick at nicknugent dot

Nick Nugent is Senior Corporate Counsel for Amazon Web Services (AWS) and a lecturer at the University of Virginia School of Law. Nick received his undergraduate degree in computer science from Indiana University and his juris doctor from Vanderbilt Law School. At AWS, Nick provides primary legal support for Amazon’s IP address acquisition and strategy group as well as AWS’s edge services, including DNS, CDN, and networking. Nick also supports Amazon’s broader internet governance and regulatory strategy in areas such as net neutrality, critical infrastructure, peering, security, and privacy. Prior to Amazon, Nick worked as an attorney in Microsoft’s Corporate, External, and Legal Affairs department, supporting Microsoft’s Azure cloud computing service, and in private practice as a telecom lawyer and patent litigator.

Nick was elected for a three-year term ending 31 December 2025.

Chris Quesada

christoquesada at aol dot

Chris Quesada has over 20 years’ experience of network engineering and supporting the community. He has worked at Cogent Communications, PAIX, Switch and Data, Time Warner Cable, and Verisign and supported capacity planning and number resources, peering, and strategic infrastructure initiatives throughout his careers. From 2002 to 2006, he supported 6Bone initiatives and the transition to v6 on the Switch and Data IXs (Formerly PAIX). From 2009 to 2011, he served as Chair of NANOG Development Committee helping to transition the hosting of NANOG from Merritt to NewNOG. Chris has a bachelor’s degree from George Mason University.

Chris was elected for a three-year term ending 31 December 2024.