Initial Slate of Board Candidates Announced - Petition Period Now Open

Posted: Wednesday, 09 September 2015

Elections for two seats on the ARIN Board of Trustees will be held online from 8 - 16 October, as the current terms of Board members Paul Andersen and Aaron Hughes will conclude on 31 December 2015.

The following candidates have been put forward by the Nomination Committee and agree to run for a position (with three-year term starting in 2016) on the Board of Trustees:

  • Paul Andersen, EGATE Networks Inc.
  • Aaron Hughes, 6connect, Inc.
  • L. Sean Kennedy, XO Communications
  • Sandra Murphy, Parsons, Inc.

A compilation of candidate questionnaire responses is available in PDF format at:

Please contact ARIN's Communications and Member Services Department at if you have any questions.

Call for Petitions

Any individual, regardless of membership status, may be placed on the ballot for election to the Board of Trustees by successful petition. (ARIN bylaws, Article VIII, Section 2.b.)

Petition requests must be submitted by 16 September 2015. In order for the candidate to be added to the ballot by petition, a petition must obtain the support of at least 89 ARIN members (two percent of eligible voters as of 20 July 2015 when nominations opened.) Members will have 14 days from the petition opening to register their support.  Details about the petition process are available at:

If you are interested in submitting a petition to run for the ARIN Board of Trustees, please send an email to with your name, phone number, and organization affiliation.

ARIN will announce the final slate of candidates for the Board of Trustees election prior to the opening of elections.

Congratulations and good luck to all of the candidates; we appreciate your willingness to take an active role in guiding the future of the Internet.  


John Curran
President and CEO
American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN)