Call for Nominations: 2010 Jonathan B. Postel Service Award

Posted: Friday, 14 May 2010

The Internet Society (ISOC) is now accepting nominations for the 2010 Jonathan B. Postel Service Award. This annual award is presented to an individual or organization that has made outstanding contributions in service to the Internet community. This year the award will be presented during the 78th Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) meeting in Maastricht, Netherlands, 25-30 July 2010. The award includes a presentation crystal and a prize of USD 20,000.

About the Award

The Jonathan B. Postel Service Award was established by the Internet Society to honor a person who has made outstanding contributions in service to the data communications community. The award is focused on sustained and substantial technical contributions, service to the community, and leadership. With respect to leadership, the committee places particular emphasis on candidates who have supported and enabled others in addition to their own specific actions.

The award is named for Dr. Jonathan B. Postel to recognize and commemorate the extraordinary stewardship exercised by Jon over the course of a thirty year career in networking. He served as the editor of the RFC series of notes from its inception in 1969 until 1998. He also served as the ARPANET "numbers Czar" and Internet Assigned Numbers Authority over the same period of time. He was a founding member of the Internet Architecture (nee Activities) Board and the first individual member of the Internet Society, where he also served as a Trustee.

Award Nomination Procedure

Nominations may be submitted via an online form until the deadline of 28 May 2010. More information and the nomination form is available here


Member Services
American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN)