NRO NC Candidates Announced for the ARIN Region

Posted: Thu, 13 Sep 2007

The following candidates have agreed to run for the one (1) seat on the Number Resource Organization (NRO) Number Council from the ARIN region becoming vacant with the expiration of Sanford George's term on 31 December 2007. The seat is a three-year term beginning 1 January 2008.

  • Andrew Dul, Perkins Coie LLP
  • Vikas Khanna, Covad Wireless
  • Jason Schiller, Verizon Business
  • Michael Smith, Adhost Internet LLC
  • Sam Weiler, SPARTA

Candidates will have the opportunity to address meeting attendees during the Public Policy Meeting in Albuquerque on 17 October. Candidate biographies and a form for voicing support can be found online at ARIN Election Headquarters:

Designated member representatives (DMRs) from ARIN's General Members in good standing  ( will be eligible to vote online from 10-17 October 2007. ARIN Member Services requires a name and personalized email address be on record for the DMR; role accounts are not acceptable. Voter eligibility must be established at least 14 calendar days prior to the fourth quarter ARIN Members Meeting. Organizations that are not in good standing or do not have a valid DMR on file as of 5 October 2007 will not be eligible to vote. Please email Member Services at to ensure you have a properly registered DMR. Contact if you have any questions about your organization's billing status.

Anyone who attends the NANOG 41 meeting in Albuquerque may cast a vote onsite on 16 October. ARIN XX Public Policy Meeting attendees may vote onsite on 17 October.

The winner will be announced on Thursday, 18 October 2007, during the ARIN XX Public Policy Meeting in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Raymond A. Plzak
President and CEO
American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN)