ARIN Appoints Lee Howard as Interim ASO AC Representative

Posted: Tue, 14 Dec 2004

The ARIN Board of Trustees appoints Lee Howard as an interim member of the Address Supporting Organization Address Council (ASO AC) from the ARIN region. He will serve a one-year term beginning January 1, 2005. This action occurred at the Board's meeting conducted December 10, 2004.

This appointment is part of the transition of the Address Council to its new organization as described in the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) and the Number Resource Organization (NRO). This MoU was signed on 21 October 2004.

Text below is extracted from the MoU as it pertains to the ASO AC.

3. Address Council

a. Composition.

The ASO Address Council shall consist of the members of the NRO Number Council.

ASO MoU - Attachment B Address Council Transition

In order to maximize stability and minimize disruption, the following method for transition from the current to the new Address Council is agreed.

1. The two shortest serving Address Council members from each region will be appointed to the NRO Number Council.

2. Upon expiration in 2004 of the seat of the longest serving Address Council member in each region, the respective RIR board will appoint a third member of the NRO Number Council, by a method of its own choosing.

The ARIN Board of Trustees took the following actions with regard to the transition of the Address Council:

  1. Identified Mark McFadden as the longest serving member of the Address Council from the ARIN region.
  2. Appointed Lee Howard in accordance with the procedure that was adopted at the 19 April 2004 Board of Trustees meeting.

This is an interim appointment. In 2005 the ARIN Board will appoint a person to a full three-year term to the Address Council. Further information regarding this will be published early in 2005.

Raymond A. Plzak
President and CEO
American Registry for Internet Numbers