Board Meeting:

Wednesday, 18 February 2015


  • Vint Cerf, Chair

  • Paul Andersen,Treasure/ Vice Chair

  • John Curran, President & CEO

  • Timothy Denton, Secretary
  • Aaron Hughes, Trustee

  • Bill Sandiford, Trustee
  • Bill Woodcock, Trustee

Note Taker:

  • Thérèse Colosi

ARIN Staff:

  • Nate Davis, COO


  • Stephen Ryan, Esq

1. Welcome & Agenda Review

The Chair called the meeting to order at 3:04 p.m. EST. The presence of quorum was noted. The Chair asked for comments on the agenda. Bill Woodcock requested that the Board congratulate Oscar Robles as CEO of LACNIC. The Chair stated it would be discussed under Any Other Business.

2. Approval of Minutes

(Attachment A, January 2015 Minutes)

 It was moved by Bill Woodcock, and seconded by Bill Sandiford, that:

"The ARIN Board of Trustees approves the Minutes of 12 January 2015, as written."

The Chair called for discussion. The President noted that exhibits are referenced in the minutes    and will be published with the minutes. All agreed.

The motion carried with no objection.

3. 2015 Fellowship Selection Committee

(Attachment B, Fellowship Committee Charter)

The Board needs to appoint a Chair from the Board, and 2 volunteer General Members in Good Standing (GMIGS) to this committee. Tina Morris, of the ARIN Advisory Council (AC) has been selected to represent the Advisory Council for 2015.

Bill Woodcock nominated Bill Sandiford, and Paul Andersen seconded the nomination. There were no further nominations or objections. Bill Woodcock stated that he would send Bill Sandiford a 'numbers' spreadsheet to assist him in the role.  The Chair asked Bill Woodcock to coach Bill Sandiford if he desired. Bill Woodcock agreed.

The General Member volunteers are:

  • John Kuhn
  • John Sweeting

The Chair asked if the 2 volunteers were acceptable. The President stated there were no objections to them and that they were General Members in Good Standing.

It was moved by Paul Andersen, and seconded by Aaron Hughes, that:

"The ARIN Board of Trustees accepts the ARIN Fellowship Committee Charter, as presented, and appoints: Board Member Bill Sandiford as the Committee Chair; AC Member Tina Morris; and, General Member volunteers John Kuhn and John Sweeting, to serve on ARIN's 2015 Fellowship Selection Committee."

The Chair called for discussion. There were no comments.

The motion carried with no objections.

4. ICANN 52 Meeting Review

The President provided an overview of the meeting, which he attended in Singapore, to include the IANA Stewardship Transition Planning Process that had been discussed during the ICANN meeting.

5. NANOG Update

The President stated that he, Paul Andersen and Aaron Hughes met with the NANOG Board and discussed the ARIN/NANOG fundamental alignment and strategic relationship; and, the formalization of the existing relationship via a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU). He stated that he would be meeting with NANOG staff next week to discuss advancing the MoU.

6. Any Other Business

New LACNIC CEO. Bill Woodcock requested that the new CEO of LACNIC, Oscar Robles, be made aware of the Board's motion made in January congratulating him, via card or letter.

It was moved by John Curran, and seconded by Aaron Hughes, that:

"The ARIN Board of Trustees honors and recognizes our new colleague, Oscar Robles, as the CEO/Executive Director of LACNIC, and wishes him much success in his new position." 

The motion carried by acclamation.

7. Adjournment

The Chair entertained a motion to adjourn at 3:56 p.m. EST. John Curran moved to adjourn, seconded by Aaron Hughes. The meeting adjourned with no objections.