Board Meeting:

Monday, 14 August 2000
Chantilly, Virginia


  • Scott Bradner
  • David Conrad
  • John Curran
  • Scott Marcus
  • Dennis Molloy, ARIN Counsel
  • Susan Hamlin, Notetaker
  • Kim Hubbard, Observer
  • Absent: Michael Straty

Acting President and Chairman of the Board John Curran convened a special meeting of the Board at 3:55 PM, immediately following adjournment of the previous Board meeting.

Scott Bradner made the following motion:


WHEREAS on August 15, 2000 Kim Hubbard, President of ARIN, tendered her resignation to the Board of Trustees of ARIN; and,

WHEREAS Kim Hubbard was a founding member of ARIN and served ARIN as its first President since December, 1997 leading ARIN through times of revolutionary change and restructuring of the Internet and the Internet community; and,

WHEREAS during this period her loyalty, dedication and comprehensive understanding of purpose of ARIN and the needs of ARIN's membership and the Internet community were responsible for the growth and financial stability of ARIN and helped to inspire confidence throughout the Internet community in ARIN for its reliable, efficient and equitable allocation of Internet numbers; and,

WHEREAS the Board will miss her friendship, sharp wit, sense of humor and sagacious counsel.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the ARIN Board of Trustees recognizes Kim Hubbard for her outstanding service and gives her a heartfelt vote of thanks for a job well done for ARIN, its members and the Internet community, and, further, that this Resolution be placed on the permanent record of ARIN as a token of the esteem in which she is held by the Trustees of ARIN.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be presented to Kim Hubbard as an expression of ARIN's appreciation.

John Curran seconded the motion. There being no discussion only applause, the motion was carried by an enthusiastic and unanimous vote.

Scott Bradner moved to adjourn the meeting at 4:00 PM. David Conrad seconded the motion and the meeting adjourned by a unanimous vote.