Your IP address could not be determined at this time.

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Internet Technical Advisory Committee (ITAC)


Founded in 1960, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is a forum where governments work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common economic and social problems. OECD members analyze and compare data to predict future trends, and set international standards by understanding what drives economic, social, and environmental change. As of 2011, the OECD has 34 Member countries, and works closely with various developing economies throughout the world.

The OECD is also focused on issues related to the developing Internet economy. At events including the OECD Ministerial Meeting On The Future of the Internet Economy (2008), the OECD High Level Meeting on the Internet Economy: Generating Innovation and Growth (2011), and in a number of committees and working parties, the OECD has examined a range of topics relating to the economic and social effects of the Internet.

How Does ARIN Participate?

Member of the Internet Technical Advisory Committee (ITAC).

Who Can Join And How?

ITAC's participation in the OECD's work is coordinated by the Internet Society (ISOC).

Organizations interested in joining should contact either the ISOC representatives listed on the membership page, or in the ARIN region contact Cathy Handley. Contact information is provided one the ITAC website.

Access to Materials

Official documents considered by the OECD and its ICCP Committee and classified as "For Official Use" are made available to non-governmental stakeholders participating in its work directly from the Secretariat for the purpose of expert consultation and comments.   In the case of the ITAC, these documents are only available to ITAC members.

Circulation and use of "For Official Use" documents is limited and they are not publicly accessible.

ARIN's Role at OECD / ITAC

ARIN participates in the OECD's Information, Computer, and Communications Policy Committee (ICCP) through ITAC.  ITAC comprises a broad range of stakeholders from the Internet multi-stakeholder community.  ITAC supports OECD Internet-related policy discussions with a focus on open, enhanced cooperation among all stakeholders.

ARIN, as part of the Number Resource Organization (NRO), is one of the founding members of ITAC. ARIN participates as an individual contributor and as part of the NRO.  Using the open, collaborative and inclusive Internet model of community involvement and development, ITAC provides counsel and technical expertise to aid the OECD in its work on the Internet economy. ARIN fully participates in ITAC's main purpose of contributing to the OECD's development of Internet–related policies. ARIN, through ITAC, is able to provide technical information that adds to ongoing discussions, and provides material to aid the OECD in setting up future priorities in the technical arena.

OECD / ITAC Background

Formation of ITAC was first discussed at OECD's Ministerial Meeting on the Future of the Internet Economy, held in Seoul, South Korea in 2008. The Technical Stakeholder Forum was initially formed for the discussion, which stressed the role of the open, collaborative, inclusive "Internet Model" of development, and called upon the ministers to preserve and promote the conditions that enable innovation and positive development on the Internet.

The contributions from the Technical Stakeholder Forum were acknowledged in the "OECD Seoul Declaration for the Future of the Internet Economy", which called for reinforced "co-operative relationships and mutually beneficial collaboration with the Internet technical community."

On 15 January 2009, the OECD Council formally recognized the participation of ITAC at the OECD's ICCP Committee and welcomed ITAC as an Internet community partner.



2, rue André Pascal
75775 Paris Cedex 16
Tel.: +33 1 45 24 82 00


The main purpose of ITAC is to constructively contribute to the OECD's development of Internet-related policies. ITAC primarily contributes to the work of the OECD Committee for Information, Computer, and Communications Policy (ICCP) and its specific working parties such as the Working Party on Communications and Infrastructure Services Policy (CISP), the Working Party on Information Economy and the Working Party on Information Security and Privacy (WPISP).


ITAC membership is open to Internet technical or research organizations that:

  • Support the principles set out in the ITC Seoul Memorandum (Annex 2);
  • Contribute to the open Internet model;
  • Demonstrate technical expertise and commitment to the public interest;
  • Commit to open collaborative and multi-stakeholder modes of work;
  • Respect the "Principles for the Participation of Non-governmental
    Stakeholders in the Work of the ICCP Committee and its Working Parties" adopted by OECD Member States (Annex 1);
  • Are prepared to contribute to the work of the ITAC on issues of interest to their organization; and
  • Are not currently participating in other Advisory Committees to the OECD Committee(s) and do not have independent official relations with such committees.

 You can view the membership list on the ITAC website.

Structure and Organization

ITAC meets via periodic conference calls to prepare for meetings, exchange information and discuss activities and interests.  ITAC is not intended to speak for or on behalf of any of its members. The ITAC's goal is to provide useful information to the OECD organizations in which it participates.

Members will seek to develop consensus positions to transmit to the OECD, or to present a range of different views with explanations for the differences, in a form that will assist the OECD to develop useful advice to member governments and other interested parties. In any case, ITAC members can contribute to OECD's work independently.

Search Related Content


full site search

Forums for Participation