Your IP address could not be determined at this time.

Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL)


The Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL), part of the Organization of American States (OAS), was established in 1994 to promote the development of telecommunications, Information and Communication Technology (ICT), and the exchange of best practices and policy development in the Americas region.

CITEL's evaluations include relevant legal, regulatory and technology-related issues such as universal access to ICT, common standards, network interoperability, and compatible use of the radio spectrum. These activities uniquely promote country and regional economic development and contribute to a consolidated representation of Members' positions at regional, hemispheric and international policy meetings such as the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

How Does ARIN Participate?

ARIN participates in CITEL as an Associate Member.

Who Can Join And How?

Membership in CITEL is composed of Member States of the OAS and Associate Members from the private sector.

Associate Membership is open, by subscription, to any agency, organization or institution engaged in any activity related to telecommunications and ICT in a Member State. Associate members of a Permanent Consultative Committee may fully participate in all the activities of that committee, presenting technical papers and receiving documents, but do not have a vote.

An Associate Member application form and details regarding cost and the processing of the application are available on the CITEL website

Note that the completed application must be sent to your Member State for endorsement before it can be submitted to CITEL.

Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL)
Organization of American States
1889 F Street N.W. Suite 348
Washington, D.C., USA

Access to Materials

All materials contributed or produced are for the sole use of CITEL members.

ARIN's Role at CITEL

ARIN participates in order to address questions and concerns related to the deployment of IPv6,the exhaustion of IPv4, and the technical management of Internet number resources. Through this membership ARIN increases its exposure to and develops coalitions with multiple government administrations in its region. ARIN's participation also helps determine how World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) outcomes are applied in the ARIN region and how the WSIS outcomes are interpreted globally, including in the ITU. As appropriate, ARIN participates in regional preparations for specific ITU events, including the preparation of inter-American proposals (IAP) and common positions.

CITEL Background

CITEL serves as a permanent forum bringing together governments and private sector representatives for coordination of Member States' diverse political, economic, social and technical perspectives required to assist in meeting their specific infrastructure needs


Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL)

Organization of American States

1889 F Street N.W. Suite 348

Washington, D.C., USA


CITEL's mission is to improve society throughout the Americas through promotion of sustainable telecommunications/ICT development in a fair and equitable manner. CITEL seeks to benefit the region economically and socially through information exchange and by representing the diverse interests of the Americas to the world.


Membership in CITEL is comprised of OAS Member States (of which there are 35 independent states) and private sector Associate Members (of which there over 100 agencies, organizations, or institutions in the telecommunications/ICT industry). Only Member States are able to vote within the Permanent Consultative Committee (PCC), but Associate Members are given a voice to fully participate in all the activities of the PCC of which they are a member.

Structure and Organization

CITEL is organized into several working committees and oversight bodies:


Serves as an Inter-American Forum in which the highest telecommunications authorities of the CITEL Member States share opinions and experiences and make appropriate decisions to direct their activities towards achieving its assigned objectives and mandates.


The Permanent Executive Committee (COM/CITEL) is the executive organ of CITEL. It is composed of representatives of thirteen (13) Member states of CITEL elected at the Regular Meeting of the Assembly of CITEL.

PCC1 - Permanent Consultative Committee I: Telecommunications/Information and Communication Technologies (ICT)

Serves as an advisory committee of CITEL in the area of telecommunications/ICTs, especially in matters related to telecommunications/ICT policy, regulation, standardization, universal service, economic and social development, environment and climate change, and the development of infrastructure and new technologies.

PCC2 - Permanent Consultative Committee II: Radiocommunications including Broadcasting

Serves as an advisory committee of CITEL, promoting planning, coordination, harmonization, and the efficient use of radio spectrum, as well as geostationary and non-geostationary satellite orbits for radiocommunication services, including broadcasting.

Search Related Content


full site search

Forums for Participation